Great day until I tried to chop my thumb off…

Today we had a little under 20 people turn out. Good to see some old faces returning as well as the regulars.

This blog is where it is at. The email distribution list is so unreliable with various people getting it occasionally and others never getting it. You can subscribe to the blog, or the facebook page (type Cawston Greenway into the facebook search) by clicking on the subscribe button. You will then get a polite reminder by email that the blog has been updated with the next workday.

If anyone wants to be an admin on the blog, just let me know. I will gladly add you.

Today was organised and worked really well. We split into smaller groups and cleared the glades between the meeting point and the Victorian bridge. These glades, or clearings, are so important for the wild flowers. Sunlight will encourage them to grow and they will attract insects and butterflies, which will then attract a whole host of other wildlife such as birds and the like. I really feel that we made some tangible difference on the last couple of workdays.

lots of sunshine on the greenway after making a clearing

another cleared area almost finished

clearing around the bridge to make a feature of it - plenty to do but nice to see more sunlight getting through.

With regards to the paths between the glades, normally known as woodland rides, I will sort out a hedge-trimmer this week and we can gently trim back the paths and follow the existing curves to keep the undulating snaking effect.  I think this will be earlier next year. I feel that it is better to work on the glades first and then work on the paths between them later on.

Thanks Margaret for the First Aid and helping me to A&E. God bless you… Big lesson here – cut away from your hands when sawing.. obvious but in the heat of the moment….

Great work today. Next workday will be in three weeks time on the Sunday, unless someone else would like to organise one beforehand.

Thanks again, it’s starting to look good.

Paul

About Paul

Just trying to create a slice of wildlife and a place for people to chill out and meet new friends in this crazy world that we live in.
This entry was posted in Newsreel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great day until I tried to chop my thumb off…

  1. Paul says:

    Just a thought, if you are not getting the emails that I send out to inform of future workdays, it might be worth sending me an email so that your email provider knows that I am not spam. Even better if you put my email into your address book, too.

    The email I use for Cawston Greenway is paul.hart@europe.com. I should really use the cawstongreenway address but that ties me to a single computer.

    Hope this helps.

  2. Aaron says:

    Hi, Paul.
    Thanks for coordinating us on Sunday. Our group seemed to work well together.
    Sorry to hear about your injury. Get well soon!
    Aaron (& Finley)

Leave a Reply

