Two workdays for the price of one!

Some say I have a brain the size of a walnut.

Others question if I was dropped on my head at birth.

And the rest just think I am plain mad!

Well that’s what Graham called me today because not only did I do a few hours on the WWT Ashlawn Cutting Local Nature Reserve, I then went and did it all again on Cawston Greenway. I ended the day looking like a vagabond who had been living rough for months on end. Rain, sleet and then snow, along with a bracing wind had to be endured throughout the day.

Looking north towards the bonfire, see the much flatter embankments and open feel.

It was a really good morning at Ashlawn with some new contacts made, and I was made to feel very welcome (thanks guys). We had a roaring bonfire and burnt off a whole load of brash.

Looking down the line.

We got the whole area cleared and tidy. Half way through the morning Rugby FM contacted me and interviewed me about progress on Cawston Greenway. Good to keep the momentum rolling and with this in mind, I can report that we are now the proud owners of our very own brush cutter. Hinckley and Rugby Building Society kindly gave us money to buy one and B&Q did a cracking deal, knocking 40% off one. This is going to make life so much easier. Hopefully we can get in The Rugby Observer with a story about the brush cutter, Hinckley and Rugby, and Cawston Greenway. All good news.

On Cawston Greenway we made a new glade, quite a small one with a specimen tree or two within the clearing.

A new glade is made.

The new glade is on a bit of the greenway where the cutting is turning into embankment, and the views to the west are pretty good. There was a natural break in the trees and I tried to make a feature of this window across open countryside. I also stumbled upon a natural log pile that was pretty rotted down and covered in moss. Still work to do, but yet another glade that is different from the others and will create a superb micro-habitat for a whole host of insects, spiders, wild birds and other wildlife.

The views across open countryside from the new glade. Making the most of a natural break in the trees.

Well that’s about it for now. Next workday will be after Christmas and I think we need to think about putting up the many bird nesting-boxes, bat boxes and insect houses that are cluttering up my garage. We also need to try and get as much of the path cut back between the glades as possible, so that we don’t have the thorny problem of brambles snagging the legs of walkers and cyclists. We have until March and then we are back into the bird-nesting season. It’s going to be fantastic to see what grows in the glades next year, and how the whole shape of the greenway changes.

Happy Christmas everyone, I hope you all have a great celebration and I look forward to cracking on next year!

Paul

This entry was posted in Newsreel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

