Battling With Stinging Nettles

Whoever suggested doing this? Boy, do those stingers know how to fight back! Somehow they found their way up my arms and down my gloves, leaving me tingly at best and itchy at worst, for the rest of the day.

The bare ground should hopefully yield some wild flowers. Just the movement of pulling up the nettles and walking over the ground may well kick-start some dormant seeds into germination.

We are just about finished in this area now. Don’t know if I dare risk trying to burn off the piles of nettles and getting the Fire Brigade out on full alert, again. I will see how dry they look on the next workday.

IMG_5381

Next week I think a litter pick might be a good idea. I will bring some black bags and we can start at the underpass and head south. This will also give us a chance to snip back any encroaching undergrowth. Bear in mind that we only have one litter pick stick. I will see if I can acquire a few more during the week.

Next workday Monday 18th May at 9am, as per usual.

Paul

About Paul

Just trying to create a slice of wildlife and a place for people to chill out and meet new friends in this crazy world that we live in.
This entry was posted in Newsreel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

