Our First Workday Past Potfords Dam.

Bit of a strange one for me, I am just working through a virus that I picked up on Wednesday and really felt out of sorts, so forgive me if it is a bit disjointed, but here goes for our first official blog entry on the new bit.

I think, we had Steve, Marcus, Wayne, Anna, Linda, Jezz, Emma, Howard, Mick and myself today. If I have missed anyone out please let me know and I will add you.

We cracked on with clearing the litter and when we looked like we had broken the back of it, I wandered down to look at the wet bits and see what we can do to fix them.

Firstly, feast your eyes on the litter pictures – how many years of litter???

We had a good old root around at the water under the A45 bridges. I think we can channel it to the lower standing water that is to the west of the path. I gouged gullies with a stick and the water started to flow freely to the lower ground. I think we just need to dig deep gullies with spades and let the middle of the path dry out, whilst the holding ponds on the sides catch the sun, so will be drying out.

Next stop was this bit.

IMG_9118

Just wet and nowhere for the water to go. I will propose to Sustrans that we try and go around this bit by widening the path into a small glade, and cut away anything that is casting shade onto the standing water to stop it drying.

Next stop was this.

IMG_9119

A horribly wet bit. however, there seems to be a freshwater spring on the left of the path and a running stream on the right. We used a stick to make gullies and the water started to drain off the path, and then we made a dam to direct the water across the path, rather than down it. When the path is dry it will just require a step-over.

IMG_9129

The last bit that I got to was the work that we did next to the golf club. We still have stumps to remove from our work here, from last year. However, we have a lovely path forming on the ballast ridge and don’t really need to worry about trying to drain off the original path.

IMG_9120

Our new path is on the left and is dry and lovely to walk.

The path between these four pinch-points is dry and hard-packed. We just need to keep the width over the summer and see what happens with the wildlife and manage a balance between the two.

Loads of bees and butterflies today. Orange-tip, Brimstone, Peacock, Comma, and Whites. It was a riot as they all seemed to defend their territories against each other and from us.

Lots of people using the path. Probably six or seven groups of mountain-bikers and a few groups of walkers.

We became a bit strung out as a group towards the end and I seemed to lose a few people. I probably walked too far down to see what we need to do next time. Hopefully everyone went home happy and fulfilled.

Until next time.

Paul

This entry was posted in Newsreel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our First Workday Past Potfords Dam.

  1. Paul says:

    I have recorded the butterfly sightings on iRecord. I will map out the area and call it Rugby to Draycote Greenway, when I get the chance. It will be interesting to see what else has been recorded.

Leave a Reply

